Lizardfish Family

Lizardfish Family, (Synodontidae): The Synodontidae or Lizardfish Family has 40 species, of which 31 are of the genus Synodus. Five of these reside in the eastern Tropical Pacific and all five are found in Mexican fishing areas where they are known as Chiles.

The lizardfishes have slender cylindrical bodies, pointed "lizard-like" heads with large mouths that have many rows of fine teeth. They have one dorsal fin, mid-body, and a small adipose fin along the back, large pelvic fins with eight or nine rays that are located on the abdomen behind the pectoral fin, and a forked caudal fin. The fins are without spines and they have a straight lateral line.

Lizardfishes are sedimentary bottom dwellers found sitting motionless, perched on their pectoral fins, or buried in the sand with one eye exposed, waiting to ambush unsuspecting prey. They are voracious predators feeding primarily on small fishes, krill, squid, and shrimp.

Members of the Lizardfish Family found in Mexican fishing waters and represented in the fish identification section of this website include:

California Lizardfish, Synodus luciocepss.
Iguana Lizardfish, Synodus sechurae.
Lance Lizardfish, Synodus scituliceps.
Reef Lizardfish, Synodus lacertinus.
Sharpnose Lizardfish, Synodus evermanni.

Mexico Fishing Home Page < Fish Photo List < Lizardfish Family